I heard that I can carry without a permit now. Is that true?
Effective Jan 1, 2017, if you are legally allowed to own a gun, you can carry it concealed now in the same way you were allowed to carry it open before. In municipalities which banned open carry, you still cannot conceal carry in those municipalities UNLESS you have a ccw permit. Also, you will still need a concealed carry permit to carry outside of the state. Other states WILL NOT allow you to carry in their state without a permit. There are some extra ccw periods...10, 25 and lifetime time periods you can pay for so that you don't have to renew every 5 years, as it is now. Lifetime is $500...still revocable if you become ineligible. The biggest problem is there is no background check by the sheriff locally to stop those with a pattern of domestic violence or aggression from carrying..unless they have a conviction that wouldn't allow them to own or purchase a gun legally anyway. ....not that they don't now because criminals don't obey laws.
If one decides to obtain their concealed carry permit, CCW training and eligibility requirements are still unchanged. We urge everyone to take the class, become more familiar with a firearm while with a certified instructor, and most importantly, LEARN THE MISSOURI CARRY LAWS! Imagine carrying a deadly weapon and not knowing when and where you can legally carry and use it.
What are Missouri's requirements for obtaining a Certificate of Qualification?
What you do AFTER you defend yourself can put you in prison if you are not prepared - even if you are justified in doing so.
Can I bring my own gun?
If you own your own gun, you may use it to qualify ONLY if you are familiar with it and know how to load, operate it and clear any malfunctions. We will not be able to stop class to show you how to use your pistol. We offer the NRA Basic Pistol course for those interested in becoming more familiar with their firearm. If you are using your own firearm for qualification, you will need to provide your own ammunition (40 rounds). No reloads allowed.
What can I expect at the range during a Missouri class?
The law requires a 20 round qualification with a revolver or a semi-auto. Missouri law requires 20 practice rounds from either a revolver or a semi-auto, You will be shooting 20 rounds from either type of gun for practice and qualifying with the action type of your choice, for a total of 40 rounds. The range is outdoors and offers protection from the elements. Proper shoes are recommended.
Where are you located?
Our classroom is located in St Charles at 1600 Heritage Landing 63303 and our privately owned range is located in Troy, MO. Directions to the range are given in class.
How much does the Missouri CCW class cost?
The course is $100 (occasionally discounted to $80) and includes guns, ammo, ear and eye protection. Water, soft drinks and snacks are also provided.
What takes place in the classroom portion of a Missouri CCW class?
Missouri law requires a concealed carry class to be an 8 hour class, which includes classroom time and instruction at the range. In the classroom portion, we will discuss Missouri laws pertaining to concealed carry and use of force. You will learn safe gun handling, gun storage and the various types of ammunition.
We will teach shooting stance, proper grip and sight picture. We will discuss the differences between revolvers and semi automatics, and the advantages of each. We will also demonstrate how to clean handguns. The full process of obtaining your permit will be discussed at class.